Martin takes reins as chairman of Keys School Board

November 23, 2013 

Ron Martin, a former principal of Coral Shores High School, is the new chairman of the Monroe County School Board following a Tuesday organizational meeting.

The gavel passed from former Chairman Andy Griffiths, the board's District 2 representative and a six-term elected official.

Board member John Dick nominated Martin and Ed Davidson seconded; there was no discussion.

Martin was elected to the board in 2010, defeating four-term incumbent Debra Walker. His term has been marked by his focus on empowering teachers and individual schools with more budgetary discretion.

Dick nominated District 1 member Robin Smith-Martin of Key West, also elected in 2010 when he defeated Barbara Bowers, to serve as vice chairman, which was accepted unanimously (Smith-Martin's seat formerly was held by Steve Pribramsky, who declined to seek a second term). He has championed a five-year strategic plan, which the district adopted last year.

Smith-Martin suggested adding Sugarloaf School to the rotation of regular board meeting sites and Griffiths wants Key Largo School in the rotation, as well.

The twice-monthly meetings are now held at the Henriquez Administrative Building on Trumbo Point in Key West, Marathon High School and Coral Shores High School in Tavernier.

KeysNet is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service